Sowat

Born in 1978

Lives & works in Paris (FR/US)

Biography

Collaborations

Resume

biography

Sowat is a Franco-American artist based in Paris. His close and long-standing collaboration with Lek continuously pervades his own practice. This duo of avid travellers and site-specific artists, create huge murals and installations that challenge public space. Their adventures as Lek & Sowat enrich their respective paths both artistically and sensitively. Following a year as fellows of the Villa Medici (2015-2016), they returned to Paris as artists-in-residence at the Cité internationale des arts. For Sowat, this studio in Montmartre became the ideal backdrop to further grow as an artist, enjoying the precious time and liberty artistic residences have to offer. It was a hideout, a secret escape from onlookers who pass him by and usually scrutinise his works when he paints in public. A time for research, to put everyday life on hold, and a more importantly, a time for experiments as he deepens his study of calligraphy, both on paper and canvas.

In his studio, Sowat tackles more intimate aspects of his art, further exploring calligraffiti, a discipline at the heart of his practice. To achieve this, he uses tools and materials generally considered to belong to conflicting worlds: graffiti and fine arts. Sowat is a go-between and his paintings aim at building bridges between these two realms of creation.

This studio time, spent away from the world, allowed Sowat to renew and refine his artistic gesture. His paintings bear witness to a multifaceted language which relies first and foremost on its references: the art of tagging, close to Sowat's heart, breathes life into his shapes, curls, twists, spots and script lines directly inspired by a range of calligraphic aesthetics that widely adorn our modern cityscapes: Los Angeles' framed cholo writing (where half of his family lives), Latin inscriptions carved on Roman temples' stones and marbles, Arabic calligraphy the artist saw while in to Morocco and the United Arab Emirates, exquisite hebrew fonts rediscovered while working in Tel Aviv, as well as Mandarin ideograms he closely observed during a stay in Hong Kong. Sowat embeds his taste for written paintings in global references, ranging from references to ancient art history to the micro-history of global cities (such as Los Angeles), assimilated during his countless travels around the globe.

His canvases show endless variations of the new alphabet of shape shifting sentences. His art is therefore a celebration of signs, bursting through an organised chaos wanted by the artist who, as he mutes into a demiurge-alchemist, chooses to deliberately play with his own technical mastery. By adding water and various other "fluids" to his paintings and artistic gestures, he creates chemical reactions that transform the phrasing of his canvases.

The iridescent power of these paintings let us catch glimpses, at a distance, of torrential rains, deep colourful forests, quivering swarms and, when one gets closer, texts and letter shapes draped in camouflage adornments, allowing us to trace the work's origin, as closely as possible to the artist' original movements.

Bénédicte Alliot

Director, Cité internationale des arts

Text published in Sowat's exhibition catalogue

"La mécanique des fluides"

2019 - LE FEUVRE & ROZE Gallery

biographie

Sowat est un artiste franco-américain basé à Paris. Sa longue et complice collaboration avec Lek nourrit, depuis toujours, sa démarche personnelle : grands voyageurs, acteurs d'interventions in situ et aux œuvres spectaculaires car inscrites dans l'espace public, ils tirent des itinérances du duo Lek & Sowat une expérience du sensible qui vient enrichir leurs parcours individuels. Après une année à la Villa Médicis (2015-2016), ils reviennent à Paris en résidence à la Cité internationale des arts. C'est dans son atelier sur le site de Montmartre que Sowat a ainsi pu bénéficier de ce temps particulier qu'est celui de la résidence d'artiste, en retrait des regards que l'on croise ou qui vous scrutent dans l'espace public un temps de recherche, de suspens du quotidien, et d'expérimentation, où il approfondit ses essais de calligraphies sur toile et papier.

Dans son atelier, Sowat aborde ainsi plus intimement certains aspects de sa démarche, tout en explorant plus avant le calligraffiti, qui est au cœur de sa pratique picturale. Pour cela, il fait appel à des matériaux généralement considérés comme appartenant à des mondes antinomiques (celui du graffiti et celui des beaux-arts) : Sowat est un passeur et son œuvre comme une passerelle entre ces deux univers.

Ce temps d'atelier, un retrait du monde, aura permis à Sowat d'affiner son geste artistique. Ses œuvres témoignent d'un langage multiforme, qui tient tout d'abord de la citation : la technique du tag chère à Sowat vient servir les formes, volutes, torsions, taches et lignes d'écritures qui s'inspirent directement de diverses esthétiques calligraphiques très repérées dans l'espace urbain : le Cholo writing de Los Angeles (où habite la moitié de la famille de l'artiste), les inscriptions en latin dans la pierre et le marbre des édifices romains, les calligraphies arabes observées au Maroc ou aux Émirats Arabes Unis, le graphisme de l'alphabet hébreu redécouvert lors d'une intervention à Tel Aviv, ou encore les idéogrammes chinois regardés de près lors d'un séjour à Hong Kong. Sowat inscrit d'abord sa pratique d'écriture peinte dans des références globales, pour certaines : référence à la grande histoire millénaire ou la micro-histoire de villes-mondes (comme Los Angeles), tirées de ses nombreux voyages, qu'il va ensuite s'approprier.

Les toiles de Sowat sont autant de déclinaisons d'un nouvel alphabet formant des phrases qui se transmuent. Son travail est ainsi d'abord une célébration du signe, se traduisant par une effervescence organisée, voulue par l'artiste transformé en alchimiste démiurge, qui se joue de sa propre maîtrise technique : en apposant sur la peinture, et sur son geste artistique, de l'eau et d'autres "fluides" qui vont réagir ensemble et faire évoluer les motifs sur la toile, il laisse ainsi la part des choses naturelles modifier et transformer le phrasé de ses toiles.

La puissance iridescente de ces œuvres nous laisse entrevoir, à distance, des pluies diluviennes, des forêts chamarrées profondes, d'essaims tremblotants, ou, quand on s'approche, des textes et des formes d'écritures, recouverts de parures de camouflages, qui nous permettent de retracer et revenir à l'origine de l'œuvre, au plus près du geste de l'artiste.

Bénédicte Alliot

Directrice Générale de la Cité internationale des arts

Texte publié en préface du catalogue de l'exposition personnelle de Sowat

"La mécanique des fluides"

2019 - Galerie LE FEUVRE & ROZE

© 2018 Le Feuvre & Roze

Website & Design Clémentine Tantet

Newsletter :

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon