Adrian Falkner : Don't sit on the furniture

Dernière mise à jour : 11 févr.

Following Graffiti Painter (2014), Thinking Hand (2016), Cold Fever (2018), Don't sit on the furniture is Adrian Falkner's fourth solo exhibition at the gallery.


Opening on Thursday, January 13, from 6PM, with the artist in attendance. A catalogue is published, text by Nina Ferrer-Gleize.


Exhibition from January 13 to February 5 2022.




The city writes*

by Nina Ferrer-Gleize


Adrian Falkner became an artist by writing on walls, mixing his voice with that of the city. Today, his artistic gesture is transposed; no longer immediately in contact with the surface of the wall or the floor, but removed in time and to another surface — that of the canvas, in the studio. Like Germaine Roussel or Brassaï**, Falkner takes, isolates, and detaches fragments of this language of the city, the drawings and signs that it creates. He would later go on to draw inspiration from them in his work as a painter. This is demonstrated by his own photographs, presented alongside his paintings. They are visual notes, fleeting, quick, taken during a stroll, a walk from one appointment to the next, or over the course of a longer trip, punctuated by train stations and airports. Huge buildings with a thousand and one windows, scaffolding, fences, tiles, brick walls, floor markings, the remains of a demolished dwelling, billboards... Through Adrian Falkner's photographs, the city can be read like a great palimpsest made up of the old and the new, the ephemeral and the perennial, the accidental and the intentional. All these images form a kind of lexicon, a visual vocabulary whose forms borrow from the written word: lines, grids, tracings, letters, meshes. (...)***


In his paintings, clues can be discerned in his visual notes, which have become motifs, grids, imprints. His use of building site tools: painter's tape, sander, tarpaulin, gives his oeuvre the aspect of an unfolding process; like a word perpetually in progress, reminiscent of modern cities in a state of continuous transformation. The materials of his paintings are the materials of the city: paint, paper, fabric, earth, woven plastic... For the artist, painting sometimes means sewing, tearing, taping, peeling, or sanding.


As if he wanted to fight against the verticality of the urban world, which separates the spires from the streets, those on top and those at the bottom, Adrian Falkner works in his studio without distinguishing between the walls and the floor, even going so far as to hang protective tarpaulins on the wall, littered with paint stains and footprints. He occupies both surfaces indifferently, and sometimes paces around his paintings as he paces around the streets of Basel.

The city writes, Adrian Falkner translates.


* (extract from the text published as a preface to the catalogue)

** and *** see full text




© Adrian Falkner, double page spread published in the exhibition catalogue





© Adrian Falkner, double page spread published in the exhibition catalogue



photos © Adrian Falkner


Discover the artist's page

Adrian Falkner : Don't sit on the furniture

Dernière mise à jour : 23 avr.

Après Graffiti Painter (2014), Thinking Hand (2016) et Cold Fever (2018), Don't sit on the furniture est la quatrième exposition personnelle d'Adrian Falkner à la galerie. Vernissage jeudi 13 janvier à partir de 18h, en présence de l'artiste. Un catalogue est édité, texte de Nina Ferrer-Gleize. Exposition du 13 janvier au 5 février 2022.



La Ville écrit*

par Nina Ferrer-Gleize

Adrian Falkner est devenu artiste en écrivant sur les murs, en mêlant sa voix à celle de la ville. Aujourd’hui, son geste artistique est différé ; il n’advient plus immédiatement au contact de la surface du mur ou du sol, mais dans un second temps et sur une autre surface — celle de la toile, dans l’atelier. À l’instar de Germaine Roussel ou de Brassaï**, Falkner prélève, isole et détache des morceaux de ce langage de la ville, les dessins et les signes que cela crée. Il les emporte avec lui pour nourrir plus tard son travail de peintre. En témoignent ses propres photographies, que l’artiste a décidé de faire figurer dans le catalogue. Ce sont des notes visuelles, fugitives, rapides, prises au détour d’une balade, d’un déplacement piéton entre deux rendez-vous, ou à l’occasion d’un plus long voyage, rythmé par les gares et les aéroports. Immenses buildings aux mille et une fenêtres, échafaudages, grillages, dalles de carrelage, murs en briques, marquages au sol, vestiges d’une habitation démolie, panneaux d’affichage… à travers les photographies d’Adrian Falkner, la ville se lit comme un grand palimpseste fait à la fois de l’ancien et du nouveau, du transitoire et du pérenne, de l’accidentel et de l’intentionnel. L’ensemble de ces images forme une sorte de lexique, un vocabulaire visuel dont les formes empruntent à l’écrit : lignes, grilles, tracés, lettres, maillages. (...)***


Dans ses tableaux, on reconnait comme des indices ses prises de notes visuelles, devenues motifs, grilles, empreintes. Son usage des outils du chantier, scotch de peintre, ponceuse, bâche, confère à l’ensemble de son travail une dimension processuelle ; comme une œuvre perpétuellement en cours, qui rappelle les villes modernes en mutation continuelle. Les matériaux de ses toiles sont les matériaux de la ville : peinture, papier, tissu, terre, plastique tissé… Pour l’artiste, peindre c’est parfois coudre, déchirer, scotcher, décoller, poncer.

Comme s’il avait la volonté de lutter contre la verticalité du monde urbain, qui sépare ceux des sommets et ceux des rues, Adrian Falkner travaille dans son atelier sans distinguer les murs et le sol, allant même jusqu’à accrocher au mur des bâches de protection, jonchées de taches de peinture et de traces de pas. Il occupe indifféremment les deux surfaces, et fait parfois les cent pas sur ses tableaux comme il arpente les rues de Bâle. La ville écrit, Adrian Falkner la traduit. * (extrait du texte publié en préface du catalogue) ** et *** cf. texte intégral


Adrian Falkner, Don't sit on the furniture, Le Feuvre & Roze
© Adrian Falkner, double page publié dans le catalogue d'exposition

Adrian Falkner, Don't sit on the furniture, Le Feuvre & Roze
© Adrian Falkner, double page publié dans le catalogue d'exposition



photos © Adrian Falkner


Découvrez la page de l'artiste