Julien Colombier

Born in 1972

Lives & works in Paris (FR)

Biography

Resume

May 22 - July 19: ESCAPE, solo exhibition, a catalog is published

Hiding the forest

by Richard Leydier

 

I begin writing this text on Palm Sunday, which celebrates Jesus Christ’s arrival into the city of Jerusalem. There are myriads of paintings and frescoes depicting that scene from the Gospels, in which the prophet, riding on a donkey (perhaps not the most triumphant pose), is acclaimed by a crowd that, as he passes, spreads cloaks and tree branches on the ground before him. Occasionally, someone would climb up into an olive tree to get a glimpse of this man that everyone was talking about. In the same way, for his “Electric Ladyland” exhibition at Maubuisson Abbey in 2019, Julien Colombier covered the floor of one of the rooms with paintings that the visitors could walk on.

Julien Colombier’s new works are the next step in an innate path that he has been following for several years. His motifs, both vegetal and mineral, have been colonising an ever-growing array of spaces, whether in the form of murals or drawings mounted on canvas. The plants grow like a jungle, a rainforest with a hot and humid climate favouring inexorable growth and extinguishing any attempt at domestication.

This is how I have always regarded Colombier’s works—as fragments of uncontrollable freedom. Admittedly, at first glance, they are contained, framed by the edges of the painting, which is more than ever “an open window on the world”. But it is not hard to imagine the plants spreading beyond them. There is also the question of the depth of his work. Palm fronds, leaves, and foliage obstruct the field of view. They are, in a way, the tree that hides the forest. Trunks and leaves accumulate and overlap endlessly. They manage to fill the space completely in a manner that brings to mind the modernism of Clement Greenberg. These new paintings, by stacking layer upon layer and drawing inspiration from the wall that still bears the remnants of previously painted works, assume a “painting within the painting” strategy and accentuate the saturation effect. The multitude is disorienting; such that we lose all our points of reference. Swept up in the avalanche of images, we can no longer tell up from down. Are we looking at the lower branches or the canopy? Is that a glimpse of the sky behind the foliage or is it the forest floor? The forces of gravity are upended. Stones float in mid-air like the rocks on James Cameron’s distant planet Pandora in Avatar. Colombier’s works are a portal to another world. A long-lost ancient world.

 

It may be the world of fairy tales, where the forest comes alive with unsettling sounds when night falls. As a possible source of inspiration for his current jungles, the artist mentions Maurice Sendak’s legendary book Where the Wild Things Are (1963); a seminal work of children’s literature, on a par with those of Tomi Ungerer or Roald Dahl. I have often read it to my children at bedtime. The story and the drawings introduce the power of dreams and night-time, like Winsor McCay’s Little Nemo. In it, a young boy’s bedroom is gradually transformed into a forest that leads him to a parallel universe; an island populated by friendly monsters.

It also makes me think of “Jack and the Beanstalk”, a tale probably written in early 19th century England. There too we have a plant that shoots up overnight (as they will in dreamland) and leads young Jack to a fantastical world where—good son that he is—he goes in search of riches to bring back to his impoverished mother.

It is quite possible that the stones and the plants symbolise the two hemispheres of the same brain, like the two inseparable aspects of a personality: rationalism and imagination. Although the fact that the stones refuse to obey gravity would seem to suggest that the forces of the imagination have got the upper hand over the organising power of reason.

 I searched through art history for precedents to Julien Colombier’s paintings. The ancient frescoes in the Nymphaeum of the Villa of Livia, preserved in the Palazzo Massimo alle Terme in Rome, feature a trompe l’oeil garden. It is one of the most beautiful and delicate things there is. When I look at Colombier’s paintings, I also think of Byzantine art, of Ravenna, of the Mausoleum of Galla Placidia, of the lapis lazuli of the mosaics, of that blue with an oceanic depth. And, later, to illuminated manuscripts from the Middle Ages, where stylised creepers and groves invade the margins. It brings to mind all those works where the burgeoning richness of the forest triumphs over the mineral austerity of the architecture. For there is indeed an age-old clash between the two.

I think of art nouveau; of Gallé and Guimard. And of course of naive art, first and foremost the jungles of Henri Rousseau, populated by musicians and animals lying in ambush. Getting here has been a long journey for Colombier. “As soon as I paint a character in my forest, the forest becomes a backdrop. Rousseau, on the other hand, managed to merge the character and the jungle,” he points out. This means that his paintings take another approach to the body. On a more empathetic and realistic level. That of projecting oneself into his images.

In this respect, Sumiko Oe-Gottini, in a long essay she dedicated to Colombier’s exhibition at Maubuisson, makes an interesting observation: “As I get closer to the leaves, however, I cannot help thinking that these plants are actually transformed humans.” How could this fail to remind us of Apollo’s passion for Daphne, as recounted by Ovid in his Metamorphoses? The god has just killed the monstrous serpent Python, and, in his mocking pride, he arouses the ire of Cupid. In revenge, Cupid condemns Apollo to fall in love with the nymph Daphne, who—anxious to preserve her eternal virginity—takes flight and evades him. At the end of a frantic chase, Daphne implores her father, the river god Peneus, to change her form so that she might escape Apollo’s unrelenting pursuit. And so she is transformed into a laurel tree: “No sooner had she finished her prayer than a heavy numbness seized her limbs; her soft breasts were surrounded by a thin bark, her hair changed into foliage, her arms changed into branches; her foot, just now swift, now clings to sluggish roots; her face, at the top, disappeared into the foliage. Only the radiance of her charm remains.” 

It may seem strange to bring up the subject of love in relation to Colombier’s paintings, but that is what they are ultimately about. I am firmly convinced of that. The plants and flowers are all abuzz with the stuff, just like pop music. And it is plain to see that these impetuous jungles emanate “the radiance of a charm”, albeit a slightly venomous one.

 

Richard Leydier is an art critic, exhibition curator, and editor-in-chief of the magazine artpress. He has organized such exhibitions as “Robert Combas, Greatest Hits” (2012, Musée d'art contemporain, Lyon) and “La Dernière vague : surf, skateboard & custom cultures in contemporary art” (2013, La Friche la Belle de Mai, Marseille), among others. He curated the 7th International Biennial of Contemporary Art in Anglet, in the Basque region of France (2018).

Julien Colombier

Né en 1972

Vit et travaille à Paris (FR)

Télécharger la biographie

Télécharger le CV

22 mai - 12 juin 2021 : ESCAPE, exposition personnelle

Julien Colombier — Cacher la forêt

Richard Leydier

 

J'entreprends l’écriture de ce texte le dimanche des rameaux, qui célèbre l’entrée de Jésus Christ dans la Ville de Jérusalem. De nombreux tableaux et fresques dépeignent cet épisode des évangiles au cours duquel le prophète, juché sur un âne (on fait tout de même mieux en termes de triomphe), se voit acclamé par une foule qui, à son passage, étend sur le sol des manteaux et des branches d’arbre. Parfois, un personnage a grimpé en haut d’un olivier afin de prendre de la hauteur et apercevoir cet homme dont on parle tant. À l’Abbaye de Maubuisson, en 2019, pour son exposition intitulée Electric Ladyland, Julien Colombier a tapissé pareillement le sol d’une des salles de peintures sur lesquelles on pouvait marcher.

Les nouvelles œuvres de Julien Colombier poursuivent une ligne tracée depuis plusieurs années sur un mode endémique. Ses motifs, à la fois végétaux et minéraux, colonisent toujours plus d’espace, qu’il s’agisse de murals, de dessins marouflés sur toile… Les plantes poussent en effet à la manière d’une jungle, d’une forêt pluviale au climat chaud et humide favorisant une croissance inexorable et interdisant toute tentative de domestication.

J’ai toujours regardé ainsi les œuvres de Colombier, comme des fragments de liberté incontrôlables. Ils sont certes a priori contenus, encadrés par les bords du tableau, qui est plus que jamais « une fenêtre ouverte sur le monde », mais on peut imaginer que les végétaux les débordent en réalité. Se pose également la question de la profondeur des œuvres. Rameaux, rinceaux et feuillages obstruent le champ visuel, ils sont en quelque sorte l’arbre qui cache la forêt. Troncs et feuilles s’additionnent et se chevauchent à l’infini, ils parviennent à remplir le plan en un all over qui fait écho au modernisme greenbergien. Ces nouveaux tableaux, en multipliant les strates empilées, et en s’inspirant à cet effet du mur maculé par des dizaines d’œuvres précédemment peintes, adoptent la stratégie du « tableau dans le tableau » et accentuent les effets de saturation. La multitude nous désoriente et nous perdons tous nos points de repères. Il n’y a plus ni haut ni bas, comme si nous étions pris dans la coulée d’une avalanche.

 

S’agit-il des branches basses ou de la canopée ? Est-ce le ciel que nous entr'apercevons à l’arrière des feuillages ou bien le sol ? Les forces de gravité s’inversent. Les pierres lévitent comme les rochers sur la lointaine planète Pandora de James Cameron dans Avatar. Les œuvres de Colombier sont un portail ouvert sur un autre monde. Un monde perdu. Quaternaire.

 

Ce peut être celui des contes, et la forêt s’anime alors de bruits inquiétants à la nuit tombée. L’artiste évoque le Max et les Maximonstres de Maurice Sendak (1963) comme une source possible arrosant ses jungles actuelles. C’est là un livre mythique, phare de la littérature enfantine, au même titre que les ouvrages de Tomi Ungerer ou de Roald Dahl. Je l’ai souvent lu à mes enfants au moment du coucher. Le récit et les dessins introduisent aux puissances du rêve et de la nuit, comme le Little Nemo de Winsor McKay, dans cette chambre du petit garçon peu à peu envahie par une végétation sauvage qui mène à un univers parallèle, une île peuplée de monstres sympathiques.

Je songe également à Jack et le haricot magique, conte vraisemblablement écrit au début du 19e siècle en Angleterre. Là aussi, une plante qui a cru durant la nuit (le rêve est également de la partie) permet d’accéder à un monde fantastique où le jeune Jack, en bon fils, trouvera la richesse et la rapportera à sa pauvre mère.

Il est fort possible que les pierres et les végétaux symbolisent les deux hémisphères d’un même cerveau, comme les deux aspects indissociables d’une personnalité : le rationalisme et l’imagination. Toutefois, les pierres refusant d’obéir à la gravité signifieraient que les forces imaginatives ont définitivement pris l’ascendant sur le pouvoir organisateur de la raison.

 

J’ai cherché dans l’histoire de l’art des précédents aux tableaux de Julien Colombier. Les fresques antiques de la Nymphée de la Villa de Livie, conservées au Palazzo Massimo alle Terme à Rome, figurent un jardin en trompe l’œil. C’est une des plus belles et délicates choses qui soient. Devant les œuvres de Colombier, je songe aussi à l’art byzantin, à Ravenne, au Mausolée de Galla Placidia, au lapis lazuli des mosaïques, à ce bleu à la profondeur océane. Et, plus tard, à ces manuscrits enluminés du moyen-âge aux marges envahies de rinceaux et de bosquets stylisés. Je songe à toutes ces œuvres où la richesse folle du végétal triomphe de la rigueur minérale de l’architecture. Car il y a bel et bien un affrontement séculaire.

Je pense à l’art nouveau, à Gallé et à Guimard, et bien sûr à l’art naïf, et en premier lieu aux jungles du Douanier Rousseau, peuplées de musiciens et d’animaux embusqués. L’artiste a mis longtemps à y venir. « Dès que je peins un personnage dans ma forêt, elle devient un décor. Rousseau, lui, est parvenu à fusionner la figure et la jungle », fait remarquer Colombier. Cela signifie que ses tableaux prennent le corps en charge d’une autre manière. Sur un plan plus empathique et réaliste. Celui de la projection dans ses images.

À ce titre, Sumiko Oe-Gottini, dans le long texte qu’elle a consacré à l’exposition de Colombier à Maubuisson, a une phrase intéressante : « En m’approchant au plus près des feuilles, je ne peux pourtant m’empêcher de penser que ces plantes sont en réalité des humains transformés. » Comment ne pas songer à la passion d’Apollon pour Daphné, relatée par Ovide dans ses Métamorphoses ? Le dieu vient tout juste de tuer le monstrueux serpent Python et fier, il provoque la colère de Cupidon qui, pour se venger, le condamne à tomber amoureux de la nymphe Daphné, laquelle ne pensera qu’à le fuir, soucieuse de conserver une éternelle virginité. Au terme d’une course poursuite effrénée, elle finira par implorer le pouvoir de son père, le dieu fleuve Pénée, afin d’échapper aux pressantes sollicitations d’Apollon et se transformer en laurier : « À peine sa prière achevée, voici qu’une pesante torpeur envahit ses membres ; sa tendre poitrine est enveloppée d’une mince écorce, ses cheveux s’allongent en feuillage, ses bras en rameaux, son pied, tout à l’heure si rapide, est retenu au sol par d’inertes racines ; son visage, à la cime, disparait dans la frondaison. Seul subsiste en elle l’éclat de son charme. »

Il peut paraitre étrange d’invoquer l’amour à propos des peintures de Colombier, mais c’est de cela qu’elles nous entretiennent en définitive. J’en suis intimement convaincu. Les plantes, les fleurs ne bruissent en effet que de cela, tout comme la musique pop. Et il émane assez clairement de ces jungles impétueuses « l’éclat d’un charme », fut-il légèrement vénéneux.

 

Richard Leydier est critique d’art, commissaire d’expositions, rédacteur-en-chef de la revue artpress. Il a organisé, entre autres Robert Combas, Greatests hits (2012, Musée d’art contemporain, Lyon) ; la Dernière vague, surf, skate et custom cultures dans l’art contemporain (2013, la Friche la Belle de Mai, Marseille). Il fut le commissaire de la 7e Biennale internationale d’art contemporain d’Anglet, au Pays Basque (2018).